BPI still refuses to waive my annual fee

April 13, 2009 at 5:42 pm 3 comments


Last April 2, I posted that BPI turned down my request to waive the annual fee of my BPI WorldPerks credit card (see related story). Thanks to comments left by Pinay and Money readers, especially Joey, I emailed BPI again to request for the waive of the annual fee.

Within a few hours, I received an email from BPI. Notice that it is exactly the same letter that I received when I first requested for the waive.

Greetings from BPI Express Online!

We received your e-mail regarding your request for the reversal of your membership fee. We regret to inform you that we are unable to grant your request for Annual Fee waiver. Please use your BPI Card more to qualify for Annual Fee waiver next year and enjoy more perks such as free Goldilocks signature dish for a minimum single receipt of P1,000 from any establishment or cash advance transaction using the BPI Express Credit Card.

If you need further assistance or have other concerns, you may send us an e-mail at expressonline@bpi.com.ph.

Thank you for choosing to bank with us online!

Sincerely,
The BPI E-mailbanking Team

I replied, stating that I know for a fact that there have been instances that BPI waived the annual fee even if the credit card holder didn’t meet the required monthly purchases. And again, after just a couple of hours, I received another email from BPI:

Greetings from BPI Express Online!

Kindly be advised that upon receipt of your email, we have re-evaluated your account to check if we can approve your request. However, we regret that we are unable to grant the waiver of the annual membership fee on the basis of reasons that are confidential and we are not at a liberty to disclose.

If you need further assistance or have other concerns, you may send us an e-mail at expressonline@bpi.com.ph.

Thank you for choosing to bank with us online!

These are the keywords: However, we regret that we are unable to grant the waiver of the annual membership fee on the basis of reasons that are confidential and we are not at a liberty to disclose.

Could the reason be so grave that BPI refuses to disclose it to me? How could a reason be confidential? And is this what we call quality customer service? It’s like refusing to sell an item to a buyer and telling her, “Sorry I can’t sell this to you because it’s confidential.” What the?!

I wonder if this is a generic reply that BPI E-mail Banking Team gives everytime it rejects the requests of credit card holders. Because I have proven (thanks to Pinay and Money readers) that the charged purchases is not BPI’s basis to waive the annual fee, is BPI resorting to this kind of reasoning (confidential daw!) so that the credit card holder won’t insist anymore.

I’m very disappointed. As a loyal BPI customer since I was a little girl, I have always liked how BPI treats its customers. I have always believed that I will be given the same treatment as everybody else. But then again, maybe I am wrong.

Entry filed under: Banking, credit card. Tags: , , , , , .

What can you buy with P446,000? Money lessons from the Boyet Fajardo case

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Viva  |  April 16, 2009 at 5:09 am

    Ur email probably didn’t even reach any bank manager who can give you a greenlight on that waiver. Its handled by a call center in ayala and they have standard replies for everything regardless whether you’ve been banking with them for ages. its pretty frustrating and its never about customer anyway, its always about the money.

  • 2. Badet  |  April 16, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    Try calling their hotline.. My BPI gold mastercard’s annual fees were always waived for the past 4 years. At first, I’ll call them asking for a reversal, if they refused for a reversal, I’ll call them a few minutes later asking them to cut my card… And the agent will eventually say “Kindly hold on ma’am, I’ll check your account…” Voila, annual fee waived. :)

  • 3. Paul  |  April 26, 2009 at 8:38 am

    A cardholder CANNOT always expect that his AMF will be waived. It’s always the bank’s (creditor’s) discretion. AMF are there for other reasons aside from getting more money from the cardholder (ha-ha). Indeed that if you’re a pretty good spender and uses your bank’s card frequently, then expect the perks given to your account by surprise (i.e. automatic increase in credit limit). Banks do not care if you’re with them..uhm..”since you were a little girl”. It’s ALL ABOUT how one brings and earns them MORE MONEY!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 103,014 visits

Site Meter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

