I love shopping online but…

March 3, 2009 at 6:30 am 2 comments


fullybookedI love shopping online. Whether it’s on Amazon or eBay Philippines, I like the no-hassle, no-frills opportunity to buy things that I love.

Recently, I’ve been looking for Ken Follett’s “World Without End.” This is the sequel to his earlier novel “Pillars of the Earth,” which I absolutely loooved! I’ve been to several bookstores like National Bookstore in Megamall, Fairview and Shangri-La, and PowerBooks in Megamall, Trinoma and Shangri-La, but I always ended up disappointed. In those four branches, “World Without End” was out of stock.

After several setbacks, I decided to try shopping online, first, at PowerBooks. On Feb. 6, I logged on to the Powerbooks website and ordered the book. Checking out, it indicated that I will be billed PhP599 for the book and PhP100 for the shipping fee.

After a few days, I was disappointed to receive an email from My Ayala (the facility that processes orders of PowerBooks) that the book is out of stock.

On Feb. 20, I tried ordering again, this time, from Fully Booked. I went through the same process of ordering online and this time, I was glad to see that Fully Booked’s price of “World Without End” is cheaper than
PowerBooks at PhP378 for a copy and PhP100 for shipping fee. I was also glad that Fully Booked accepts Gcash payment (PowerBooks only allows credit card).

A few days after I placed my order, I received a confirmation text from GCash, asking me to validate the amount that will be deducted from my GCash. I also received an email, stating that my order has been approved. By this time, I was happy to realize that indeed, I would finally have a copy of “World Without End.”

Four days passed with no delivery in sight. And then an email came:

There is a concern regarding your order. We have just been informed by our merchant, Fullybooked that there has been a problem with the allotment of stocks. They have advised us that the WORLD WITHOUT END book is currently unavailable. The last stock that was to come from another branch was severely damaged that is why they can no longer release it. We deeply apologize for this inconvenience and hope that you understand our merchant’s predicament.

Kindly inform us if you have received this message so that we can refund to your Gcash the amount of the unavailable book.

Again, our sincerest apologies.

Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon!

From your friends @ myAyala.com
Customer Service Hotline +632 8132383
Customer Service Fax +632 7525279
Toll Free Number  1-866-9929252

Imagine my disgust and disappointment when I received this. The book wasn’t only out of stock, My Ayala already deducted PhP478 from my GCash! So I replied and asked them to just refund my GCash. Just seconds after I sent my email, My Ayala returned my money.

I’m just severely disappointed that both orders didn’t come through. The convenience that online shopping should bring was replaced with disappointment.

I’m giving it one more try as I just ordered from National Bookstore (via My Ayala, as well). I’m hoping third time’s the charm.

Entry filed under: Reviews, Shopping. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Pinay & Money’s Pick: Myra E Daily Sun Protect Join the Pinoy Money Talk Community

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Apple  |  March 24, 2009 at 9:18 am

    I can relate. I tried ordering online from Powerbooks and was given the same feedback that the books I ordered are out of stock. My work background is related to inventory mgmt so i expect only the best, but, well, i was kinda dissapointed with the inventory monitoring of Powerbooks. They should improve their inventory system so as to avoid hassles customers, like us, are experiencing.

  • 2. pinayandmoney  |  March 24, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    thank you for posting your experience, apple. am not surprised that i’m not the only one who experienced this. hay, like you, i also hope powerbooks can improve its services.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 120,628 visits

Site Meter


