How to keep track of your expenses

March 23, 2009 at 8:09 am 6 comments


This is probably one of the hardest things to do when it come to managing your money—to keep track of your expenses. In all the personal finance books that I’ve read, tracking your expenses is a basic requirement if you want to achieve financial freedom.

But how do you know your expenses? With all the small purchases that you make everyday, is there an easy way to keep track or at least give you some semblance of accuracy to determine how much you really spend?

This Expense Sheet was developed by Suze Orman (download here). I tweaked the design a bit to fit the expenses of most Filipinos. At the end of the Expense Sheet, you will see if you operate on a surplus (you have extra money left) or on a deficit (you spend more than you earn).

Entry filed under: money tips. Tags: , .

Side Topic: Earth Hour 2009 Read The Difference by Jean Chatzky

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. tara  |  March 26, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    This seems very useful! Thanks for sharing =)

  • 2. pinayandmoney  |  March 26, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    thanks for visiting, tara. please do invite your friends to visit my site. you have a cool site, by the way! =)

  • 3. tara  |  March 27, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    I will🙂 I linked you up because I think your site is just about something a Pinay needs. Thanks for sharing these things!

  • 4. Labs  |  April 14, 2009 at 3:33 am

    Just to share, it’s very important (and helpful) to keep track of purchases and savings. For the past year I’ve kept an excel file computing for my at-hand money, my savings and list my big item purchases including bills payment.

    It gives me a good look as to how my finances would look like in the future and I can determine when I’d be having a slump on my finances.

    Good idea really.

  • 5. selenakyle  |  April 20, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    i’ve kept an expense log since day 1 of my first job – converted this to an excel worksheet in a few years and it works perfectly for me.

    i like seeing where expenses skyrocket on certain areas so i’d know where to scrimp on in the next month or so.

  • 6. marianne  |  February 24, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Hi again! i tried downloading the file to no avail. can you still share it? thanks! =)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 120,656 visits

Site Meter


