Turned down by BPI

April 2, 2009 at 1:54 pm 10 comments


Every February, I am charged by BPI the annual fee for my BPI World Perks credit card. This is the second year that I am using this credit card. In February last year, I was granted a 50% waived in the annual fee.

This year, I requested to waive the annual fee again. So I emailed BPI via expressonline@bpi.com.ph and made my request. After all, the annual fee for World Perks is P2,500! To my dismay, I received this email, informing me that BPI will not waive the annual fee.

Dear Pinay and Money:

We received your e-mail regarding your request for the reversal of your membership fee. We regret to inform you that we cannot grant your request for Annual Fee waiver. Please use your BPI Card more to qualify for Annual Fee waiver next year and enjoy more perks such as free Goldilocks signature dish for a minimum single receipt of P1,000 from any establishment or cash advance transaction using the BPI Express Credit Card.

If you need further assistance or have other concerns, you may send us an e-mail at expressonline@bpi.com.ph. Thank you for choosing to bank with us online!

Sincerely,
The BPI E-mailbanking Team

The key words are “Please use your BPI Card more to qualify for annual fee waiver next year.” This simply means that I haven’t charged enough to my credit card. So I replied and inquired how much is required to qualify for the annual fee waiver. Here’s the reply:

Dear Pinay and Money:

Greetings from BPI Express Online!

For the BPI Express Credit WorldPerks MasterCard, simply spend an average of PhP 30,000 per month to qualify for an Annual Fee waiver next year.

Sincerely,
The BPI E-mailbanking Team

Wow! This means PhP360,000 worth of purchases a year! I wonder what compelled BPI to give me a 50% waive in my first year. I certainly didn’t charge even half of PhP360,000 in the first year. Otherwise, I would have earned enough airline miles to get tickets anywhere to Southeast Asia.

Entry filed under: Banking, credit card, Reviews. Tags: , , , .

Harassed via text? Side Topic: Make a pit stop at the Healthcare on the Road

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. brandon  |  April 3, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    hi, is the requirement needed to be spend 30k per month or 300k per month?

  • 2. pinayandmoney  |  April 3, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    brandon, it’s 30K a month. this is the average monthly purchase that you need to charge.

  • 3. Sherill  |  April 5, 2009 at 10:00 am

    Sis, try calling them din. I dnt know, di ako masyadong bilib sa email coming from credit card companies, kasi Macro talaga ang dating eh. Kung ganun pa rin ang reply, then ganun nga cguro talaga. Dati kasi sa Union Bank, nagpa waive ako, ang sagot sa email, turned down pero nung tumawag ako, na reverse din siya.

    Thanks pala ulit sa mga posts mo🙂

  • 4. pinayandmoney  |  April 5, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    hi, sherill. i actually called BPI hotline first before i emailed. the CSR told me that she can’t decide because she doesn’t have access to my files. go figure. :O

  • 5. Joey  |  April 8, 2009 at 9:41 am

    I was able to have the annual fee to my BPI Petron waived. I just called them up and requested the waiver and it took only a few minutes for them to approve my request. I’m spending nowhere near 30K a month since I mostly use that card for fuel purchases.

    Maybe you can try calling them again. My usual spiel is that I’ve been a long time cardholder and I’ve always been a good payor, and that my other credit cards waived my fees too.

  • 6. carla  |  April 11, 2009 at 11:15 am

    yikes! laki naman ng monthly charge na gusto nila!

  • 7. pinayandmoney  |  April 11, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    @joey, thanks for the tip. i’ll get in touch with BPI again.

    @carla, yup, it’s too high a monthly requirement.

  • 8. carrie  |  May 21, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    hi there.. im not sure but arent they asking you to purchase more so as to earn points that can be converted to annual fee reversal? please re-inquire this. and also, but yes so ideal, that is to make sure to pay your purchases right before you assume they will be charging the annual fee. that way you can bargain with them that you will close the credit card account if they dont. as a valued customer, i am pretty sure they will waive it or else they will lose a client.

  • 9. Cheryl  |  November 22, 2011 at 5:18 am

    I just tried to call BPI to request for a reversal on the annual fee and the CSR told me that I am not qualified as of this time and to just try to request for a reversal “next time” so I was like…next time, as in next yr? He said, Yes. WTH! I only have this 1 card so I’m not very confident in threatening them to close it. LOL They won’t tell me what the qualifications are either for annual fee reversal.

    I have always been making payments in full and on time. I am going to try to call them again and see what happens. If they still won’t I may just cancel it. :p

  • 10. Cheryl  |  November 22, 2011 at 6:02 am

    Ok…just got off the phone with BPI (2nd call). Tried to request for a reversal again but was still denied so I asked them to cancel it instead. Then the rep asked, if I would consider keeping the card if fee was waived (DUH!). I said, Yes. (of course) Voila! A reference # was given and annual fee will be reversed in 3 biz days.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 120,628 visits

Site Meter


