How to waive annual fee of BDO

June 18, 2009 at 10:43 am 3 comments


Last week, I visited BDO to get the statement of account for my checking account. While waiting for the BDO personnel to get the document, I saw BDO’s flyer for its BDO Gold Credit Card.

Reading the Terms and Agreements of BDO Gold, I found that you only need an annual cumulative purchase of PhP180,000 to waive the annual fee. This also applies if the combined usage of the principal cardholder and the supplementary cardholder is PhP180,000.

However, this benefit only applies to the principal cardholder. If you are a supplementary cardholder, the annual membership fee is free for the first year only. You will charged for the succeeding years, irrespective of amount of card usage.

Why is this important? Because it is clearly stated in BDO flyers, BDO cardholders have the definite knowledge on how to waive its annual fee. Cardholders wouldn’t be given the runaround like what I experienced from BPI when I requested to have my annual fee waived (see story).

The PhP180,000 annual purchase is also not too bad. This is just about P15,000 a month. But always remember to pay in full after charging purchases to your credit card.

Entry filed under: Banking, credit card, money tips. Tags: , , , , , .

CEB offers international seat sale; fares from P988 Money Lessons from Michael Jackson

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mel  |  June 23, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    I have been doing this for the last three years with my BDO card. I just call their customer service number to request for reversal of annual fees. During the call, the system can alreadyl verify if you met the annual spending requirements. You may also request them to apply the anual fee to your accumulated points. So far BDO has been able to grant my request the last years.

  • 2. Jenna  |  June 24, 2009 at 7:11 am

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your site and wanted to say
    that I have really liked browsing your blog posts. In any case
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog and I hope you write again soon!

  • 3. Sheng  |  June 25, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Just want to share: Standard Chartered requires only P90,000 worth of purchase to waive their annual fee.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 120,628 visits

Site Meter


