One less way for BDO services

June 30, 2009 at 3:10 am 7 comments


Two weeks ago, I deposited some money in BDO Pioneer Center Branch. My branch of account is Fairview Park, Quezon City, where I live, but I do deposit my money in BDO branches near my work. Since my account in BDO is for checking, I asked the teller for my outstanding balance.

I was surprised to find out that BDO no longer allows that. The teller said that I can only view my balance when I go to my branch of account. She said my balance will not appear if I check it from other branches.

This came as a disappointment to me because this is the only convenient way of checking the balance of my current account. Because I have a day job, it’s difficult for me to go to my branch of account just to check my balance. If I do, it would mean I need to come in late in the office as work starts at 7:30 AM.

Checking my balance in other BDO branches provided me the convenience and now, I’m left with no choice. Does anyone know if I can enroll my current account in BDO’s online banking? If it is allowed, does it mean I need to submit the documents to my branch of account? If yes, then that would leave me no choice but to come in late.

Or maybe I can transfer my current account to BPI? Hmmm….

Entry filed under: Banking. Tags: , , , .

2009 Goals: A Review Side Topic: Make more memories with Enervon Prime

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mylene  |  July 1, 2009 at 2:47 am

    I also had the same encounter with BDO. all i needed was for them to pull out my account number but they said they can’t do it. but i can still deposit in any other branches as long as i have my account number. i wonder how they validate that the account number i will be placing in my deposit slip is correct based on my account name. i still don’t understand their process til now.

    my friend was able to enrol her checking account online, together with her payroll account and yes, she needed to be in the bank for a few hours. but that was years ago. i’m not sure if they still follow that until now. you’re lucky if your branch of account is open on a saturday.🙂

  • 2. mel  |  July 1, 2009 at 11:59 am

    try to enroll the BDO account with theie internet banking mybdo.com.ph. you can view your account balance online at anytime. you just have to submit the signed enrollment form at the branch where you have an account.

  • 3. brusko  |  July 2, 2009 at 3:56 am

    it’s true, access of client info (personal and account) are limited to the branch of account. not so sure though if the logic behind this is to prevent “sulutan” of big time clients.

    you can enroll SA, CA, time, loan, credit card accounts on BDO’s Retail Internet Banking. Current process requires you to submit a signed form (generated from the site).

  • 4. pinayandmoney  |  July 2, 2009 at 5:22 am

    @mylene, thank you for sharing.

    @mel, thanks for the feedback that checking can be enrolled in myBDO.

    @brusko, thank you for confirming. the “sulutan” theory is quite probable especially if the client has lots of money in one branch.

  • 5. eks  |  July 25, 2009 at 10:47 am

    i was about to suggest that you enroll your account via their internet banking site.🙂 i had the same problem with them, pero even i closed it already and now, i have unionbank and bpi. dami kasi palaing tao sa bdo e.

  • 6. Steffi  |  May 23, 2011 at 9:01 am

    Online banking application for BDO is a pain in the ass.

    I have just experienced really bad customer service from BDO. I live in a foreign country and opened a BDO dollar account last year to hold my savings because I wanted to have at least one account in my home country. I was ok with them until I asked for online banking access.

    Then shit hit the fan.

    It’s a long story but I put every detail of their sucky service and preposterous demands on this blog post:
    http://ifyouforgetme.wordpress.com/2011/05/23/newsflash-banco-de-oro-hits-a-new-high-on-sucky-service/

    Let it be a warning to anyone who wants to open an account with them. Especially OFWs!

  • 7. pudgyinthecity  |  June 19, 2012 at 4:23 pm

    I cant believe all these negative comments about bdo pioneer pasig am also a depositor and never experienced such behavior in fact I find all the tellers helpful

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 120,656 visits

Site Meter


