My mother has a credit card!

September 1, 2010 at 5:14 am 3 comments


I visited my parents today and was poking around cabinets and mail when I saw something that totally shocked me–bills from BDO credit card! For the first time in my mother’s 65 years of existence, this is the first time she got a credit card.

My first reaction was surprise, followed by annoyance. My mother has always paid for her purchases in cash and she definitely doesn’t need a credit card when she shops. My mother is also the ‘spender’ of the family and I find myself worrying over her purchases. I breathed a sigh of relief when I saw that for the last two months she has had her credit card, she has paid the balances in full and she hasn’t incurred finance charges.

But how did she get ahold of a credit card? Apparently, BDO sent her a pre-approved credit card via mail. She has been a long-time BDO depositor and this is BDO’s way of “rewarding” my mom’s loyalty. I could only cringe at what BDO is doing. My mom has never been financially savvy, she doesn’t even know how to use an ATM. And here is BDO sending my mom a pre-approved credit card.

I can only be thankful that my mom is afraid of debts, which leads her to paying off her credit card purchases in full every month. But I’m not about to let my guard down. I will continue monitoring

Entry filed under: Banking, credit card. Tags: .

BPI’s new website look The Secret to Free Cell Phones

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. albert  |  September 3, 2010 at 10:12 am

    nakakuha rin ako ng pre-approved credit card. pati mom ko. if we don’t use it, will BDO still charge us annual service fees?

  • 2. pinayandmoney  |  September 3, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    Hi, Albert. Better call BDO and say you’re not activating your credit card. If BDO is not sending you a monthly bill (even if you’re not using it), then it’s unlikely that BDO will charge you an annual fee. I had a similar experience with pre-approved BDO credit card. i just cut it in half and threw it away.

  • 3. happy  |  July 30, 2012 at 5:57 am

    yes albert ichacharge ka pa rin ng bdo.. kailangan mo ipacut iyan kaagad bago mag one year para libre pa ang annual mo. pag lumagpas na sa one year ichacharge ka na nila.. pag ipapacut mo cc mo kailangan mo pa magbayad ng fee para ipacut mo mga 150 ata yon or 100 nakalimutan ko na.punta ka na lang sa any bdo

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 120,628 visits

Site Meter


