The Secret to Free Cell Phones

September 5, 2010 at 12:52 am 1 comment


I have never been a gadget freak and am not easily impressed with the latest mobile phone features and what-nots. Would you believe that for the last eight years, I never shelled out my own money to pay for a cell phone? And all the mobile phones I’ve had, I got them for free.

How did I do it? Simple. I currently have two phones. My personal phone is a post-paid line from SMART. The second one is an office-issued phone from Globe. Since I have post-paid lines, I qualify for these companies’ retention program. Every two years, I avail of the free phones from them.

It’s not costing me a single cent. My SMART line is Plan 800. And because I’m not a big text-er, I seldom go above the P800 limit. The only calls I make are for my husband.

My Globe line is paid for the company I work for. It’s only plan P300 but the phones I get from the retention program are really great. The last phone I got is a Nokia E71, which I really, really love.

Of course, if you’re a gadget freak and you want to get the latest phones, my strategy won’t work for you. But if you’re someone who just needs to call, text or sometimes, surf the Net, then you can copy what I do and never have to pay for a cell phone out of your own pocket.

Entry filed under: money tips. Tags: .

My mother has a credit card! More Text Scam Alert

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Miss Guimba  |  September 6, 2010 at 11:38 am

    Hi Rochelle! I’m not sure whether I’ll be able to go to the L’Oreal event yet, but I’ll let you know if I do. =)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Back Read

Blog Stats

  • 120,656 visits

Site Meter


